top of page
2018 Silver Medal for Historical Fiction, Independent Publisher IPPY Awards
2018 Finalist,
National Indie Excellence Awards.
2017 Finalist, Foreword Reviews’ INDIEFAB Book of the Year Awards

Book Two in the Anna Klein Trilogy


At the end of 1945 in a shattered Germany, Anna Klein is faced with tough choices about her future. Her plum job working as a translator for Captain Henry Cooper, one of the American Monuments Men, means she has a house and an income, as well as hands-on access to some of the world’s most precious art. But her life is falling apart on all fronts: her family is displaced, the boy in her care is being sought by authorities, and she must resolve to finally end her marriage. When she realizes that someone has tampered with two important paintings taken from a Jewish collector—paintings she was charged with safeguarding—Anna is determined to solve the crime. But without hard evidence and no motive, she can prove nothing and as State Department big wigs threaten to shut down the Monuments Men’s operation, she and her boss are under special scrutiny. As all signs begin to point to an inconvenient suspect in the crime, she has to play it by the book to keep her job and return the art to its rightful owner, if she can find him.

"In What is Forgiven, C.F. Yetmen brings history to brilliant life. Her rich characters remind us that complex, nuanced hearts beat on both sides of a
war-torn country, and that even in the midst of World War II, forgiveness might be the bridge
that will unite us."
Amanda Eyre Ward, author of The Nearness of You
bottom of page